Mythbusting Biology in Class

An AsapScience video has inspired me to try a new activity in class. We’ve talked about AsapScience before. It’s a YouTube channel that creates weekly videos explaining the answers to frequently asked science questions.

Last week’s video was titled “7 Myths About the Brain You Thought Were True.” I embedded the video below. What I loved about this video is that in less than three minutes of colorful, creative art and narration it debunked myths about the brain that many college-level students believe to be true. (Especially the myth that we only use 10% of our brains. I hear that one frequently.) Students will likely leave the video wondering, “What else don’t I know?”

At least that’s my hope. I plan to show this video in class and then allow students to react. They may ask follow-up questions about the brain, or they may come up with their own “burning questions” about something else biological. This could be a great way to introduce a biology course to nonmajors students. It gets them thinking about how much they don’t know about their own bodies.

 

 

This entry was posted in Engaging students, Just for fun, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mythbusting Biology in Class

  1. I think “What else don’t I know?” is the password to enter a world of adventure.
    Reminds me of my professor’s favorite quote from Francois Rabelais that she shared with us on the last day of class:
    “Abandon yourself to nature’s truths, and let nothing in this world be unknown to you.”

Leave a Reply

